19 September 2020

00:00:00 (GMT+5)

Tashkent +21,7 °C

16 Okt  2019 995

Booker Prize 2019: This year the jury ignored rules

Laureate must be only one, but the Booker Prize in 2019 received just two writers - Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo.

Since 1993, the Booker Prize rules prohibited to issue to several authors. But jurors said they were unable to make a choice between Atwood and Evaristo.

Atwood became the winner of the Booker for a second time. In 2000, she received the award for his novel "The Blind Assassin". At this time - for the novel "Covenants" (sequel to "The Handmaid's Tale", which filmed the TV series of the same name).

Evaristo was awarded the prize for his novel "The Girl, woman, everything else", telling stories from the life of 12 black British women.

The main award - 50 thousand pounds - the authors divide among themselves. And both will be included in the award story: 79-year-old Atwood as the winner in the history of the age, and Evaristo - as the first black writer to be awarded prizes.

Similar news

Click on the button below to listen to the text Powered by GSpeech