28 October 2020

00:00:00 (GMT+5)

Tashkent +3,4 °C

Culture & Arts
26 Aug  2019 1953

Oscar Committee of Uzbekistan announces acceptance of applications

On October 1, the Oscar Committee of Uzbekistan will nominate a film in the nomination "The Best International Feature Film" at the 92nd Academy Awards, which will be held on February 9, 2020 in the famous Dolby Theater in Los Angeles.

The Oscar Committee of Uzbekistan was created on the initiative of the Youth Union and was registered by the United States Film Academy. This was made possible thanks to the participation of the National Pavilion of Uzbekistan at the Cannes Film Market.

The Oscar Committee is open in almost 90 countries of the world, which now includes Uzbekistan.

On the website of the Oscar Committee of the country, the rules for filing applications for the participation of national films in the selection for the nomination of a film from Uzbekistan for the prize of the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the category "Best International Feature Film" have been published.

The selection of national films is carried out by the Oscar Committee of Uzbekistan. Reception of applications begins on August 27 at the address: Tashkent, st. Mukimiy 8, excluding weekends and holidays.

Between September 12, the committee will hold consultations for filmmakers on submitting films for consideration. The selected films will be screened on September 13-14, and on September 16, the committee officially announces the film nominee for the prize from Uzbekistan.

Only feature-length films can participate in the selection, timing - at least 40 minutes. Moreover, the film should not be in English.

Also, before renting a movie in cinemas, it is forbidden to broadcast the nominee film on television or on the Internet, to release on DVD. It is assumed that the film previously participated in film festivals.
The film should be released in the period from October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019.
Note that the members of the Oscar Committee from Uzbekistan include:
Furkat Zakirov - Director General of Uzbekkino. Chairman of the Committee;
Bakhodir Odilov - director of the State Unitary Enterprise “Uzhatli va chronikal filmar film studios”. Director, Honored Artist of Uzbekistan;
Matyakub Matchanov - Chairman of the Union of Cinematographers of Uzbekistan, actor, Honored Artist of Uzbekistan;
Fotikh Dzhalolov - Director of the State Unitary Enterprise “Uzbekfilm”, Honored Artist of Uzbekistan;
Oybek Abdushukurov - Chairman of the Council of Young Cinematographers, Director of the PROlogue International Film Festival, producer;
Jahongir Kasimov - director, Honored Artist of Uzbekistan;
Sayyora Khudoyberdieva - Director of the Center for the Development of Cinematography of Uzbekistan.

Similar news

Click on the button below to listen to the text Powered by GSpeech